top of page

What is the New Culture of Learning?

What if … we could have a learning environment where students could learn whatever they wanted? This week I have been reading the book The New Culture of Learning by Doug Thomas and John Seely Brown and watched some videos, and I reached the conclusion that my innovative plan is basically this idea. I literally got so excited that I almost cried when I discovered that my idea is something that is formally presented in a book. Of course, I am missing many of the pieces, but the idea is there.


Learning environments present the idea of no books, no teachers, and no classrooms. They switch these traditional concepts to new ideas where students are presented with the freedom of building and experimenting within some boundaries. These environments allow students to play, question, and imagine, guiding them to create something meaningful for them. The learning is enhanced when students create their own learning communities according to their interests where they learn from others. In these communities, unlimited resources are used to connect to their interests and allow them to imagine new solutions where the constraints sometimes are pushed. The teachers change their role to that of mentors or coaches moving more like spectators waiting to see what happens.


One of the more interesting aspects of the learning environments is how they thrive on change. They mold according to the participants and the information that is shared. This is very important for the new culture of learning because they provide rich sources of information and students keep asking better questions and thus keep learning. With the learning environments, we are uniting people, skills, and talents which lead to greater results than those achieved when we only have one person working on something.

The most important part for me is that students are following their desires and passions making the learning fun and easy, and they have a space where they will be able to produce something meaningful to them. It allows them to build, create, and participate so they are in charge of their own learning. We are letting students’ imagination run free because we are not setting limits on what is possible and what is not. Learning now is a process with three important components: letting students follow their passions, giving students freedom to use their imaginations, and motivating them to find different solutions.

My innovation plan is based on letting the students follow their passions and dreams. Before I read this book, I thought of every kid as an individual and I didn’t have in mind the collective. I know that I will have to give them access to online resources in a safe environment, but now I would like for them to support each other with their projects to make them bigger and better. Maybe we can connect them to other students in other schools that are working on the same projects? I am scared of letting them connect with outside people, but I plan to research ways whereby I don’t inhibit their learning by set boundaries that can be worked around.


We need to find a way to have significant learning environments in our organizations. To me, this sounds like the whirlwind and the lead measures in the 4DX model; you need to find a way to get out of the whirlwind to do the really important part. We need to find the time for the new culture of learning even though we have standardized tests. I hope that with my innovation plan we will open the doors to new ways of learning. I see it as doable with the blended environments but maybe the district will create classes with this model in mind. We can set an example and prove that it works, that students are motivated and learning, and that they are using their imaginations to get to new solutions. Maybe if we get public and use social media, more people will be willing to try this new way of learning so we can have more people in the collective.

Challenges:

I see a lot of challenges because this requires changing the traditional learning environment to an environment where teachers are almost invisible in certain parts. So the first challenge is to train the other teachers, and myself, to think in a different way.

The second challenge I can see is what was mentioned in the book. The students are so used to being directed on everything that I can foresee some struggles when they have to make decisions about their own learning. The team will have to learn to guide the students in this process and students need to learn that there is no right or wrong.

Another challenge is the play part where kids need to experiment. I have had this problem on many occasions because play sometimes requires hands-on activities, and most of the time that means money from your pocket. This is something that I have not been able to really solve yet. Maybe if we start applying for grants that will be even better because that will be part of the learning.

So, Friday was the big day, the day this project started and I am very excited! My principal was thrilled with this project because she is always advocating for what is best for the kids. The challenges are there but everything is part of breaking that status quo of traditional learning. We will have to work together, following our passions, learning from each other, having fun with new experiences, and changing the world with our imaginations.

References:

Chesney, C., Covey, S. & Huling, J. (2012) The 4 disciplines of execution. New York, NY: Franklin Covey Co.

Harapnuik, D. (2015, May 8). Creating significant learning environments. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZ-c7rz7eT4
Tedx Talks. (2012, September 12). A new culture of learning: Douglas Thomas at tedxufm. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/lM80GXlyX0U
Thomas, D., & Brown J. S. (2011). A New Culture of Learning: Cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change. (Vol 219) Lexington, KY: CreateSpace

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page