top of page

Using COVA to Create Significant Learning Environments

This has been a great adventure that started in August 2018! One of the lessons that has truly impacted my life was in our first class: Concepts of Educational Technology. We had the great pleasure of learning about Growth Mindset (Dweck, 2006). I learned that it is ok to make mistakes … and that is how the adventure of trying new things started!



My COVA choices, ownership, and voice with authentic assignments (Harapnuik, Thibodeaux, and Cummins, 2018) started when I had to create my first assignment: Growth Mindset Plan (Diaz, 2018). I remember feeling so lost! I didn’t know how to start or what to use. I guess one of my classmates or maybe the professor mentioned Piktochart. It was so cool to try a new tool! I have tried to step out of my comfort zone for every project I have done since then and I have learned a lot. YouTube has become my ally. YouTube has helped me learn how to use new things and that has helped me to grow my repertoire of ways of presenting the projects.


To adjust to this new style of learning I decided not to be scared to fail. I really feel that this program has changed me, I see the world in a different way. The fact that nothing has to be perfect is refreshing, you are always learning with every step you take. I wish I knew this many years before when I had my kids with me. I guess I would have been more careful with the vocabulary I used with them and I would have pushed them even more to make more mistakes.




I am a migrant and I have a thick accent. Taking control of my voice has been hard because I am aware of when I am making mistakes or I have the feeling that people are confused when I am talking. After reading Patterson, Grenny, McMillan, and Switzler (2012), I noticed how my ideas were more accepted. I know I have to re-read it again so I can apply the strategies in better ways but it did help me to have more voice. I try to understand other people's point of view and listen from the heart.


In January of this year, I was published by Edutopia. My article was about giving students a voice through podcasting (Diaz, 2020). I feel that now many people want to hear what I have to say. The district featured me (Ekwue, 2020) and some coaches have come to ask me questions and listen to my story. I am so grateful to my professor, Dr. Haynes, that pushed and helped me with this article. I have more ideas and I really want to make a difference. I want to motivate other teachers to try new things and give students the opportunity to have choice, ownership, voice, and with authentic projects (Harapnuik et al., 2018).




I believe in my innovation plan (Diaz, 2018). My students are now working on creating stories. I wish it could be done during the school hours but we don’t have the time, so we have to do some after school work. I have not influenced other people to follow my steps. It is hard because sometimes it requires working after hours. But my students' smiles and passion for what they are doing is worth it. This project aligns with my learning philosophy because I still believe in “letting the students wonder, use their imaginations, and experiment to get to new solutions” (Diaz, 2019).


I wish we could get rid of the education factory we live in (Godin, 2016). Students should have mentors to help them follow their passions. My perspective of learning has changed. I believe in the growth mindset now. I know now that students have a deeper learning when they are provided with meaningful activities. My learning philosophy has not changed but I would say it has added some information. I understand now the constructivism under it.


My next step is to apply for a coaching position and maybe go for a doctorate. I really want to be a mentor to other teachers now. I want to show them about how they can have choice, ownership, voice and provide those same aspects to their students with authentic projects. I will keep using COVA with my students or teachers. I like how when you are taught with COVA, the students feel like they are the owners of their learning and they can go beyond what is expected. It is scary at the beginning but when you are used to it, there are no limits. My students have experienced it and I have seen their frustrated faces because they have to make the decisions. But later, I can see how they are not afraid of trying new things.





This week I started mentoring a teacher. I will present the COVA concept to her so she can understand what I am doing. I am going to introduce the concepts of Learning Outcomes 3 Column Table (Harapnuik, 2016) with the BHAG I created, and the references I used. I will show her my UbD (Wiggins, 2005) so she can learn another way of planning . I want to provide her with all the tools to be successful in her classroom without overwhelming her. I remember when I was a first-year teacher, you receive constant information and due dates and you feel that everything is impossible. The challenges when using COVA and CSLE are several. People need to change their mindset and become risk takers. They need to be brave to break the status quo of the factory. They need to fight for their students.


References:


Diaz, P. (2020). How to promote student voice - literally https://www.edutopia.org/article/way-promote-student-voice-literally

Diaz, P. (2019, March 2). What is my learning philosophy? https://mapediaz.wixsite.com/website/blog/what-is-my-learning-philosophy

Diaz, P. (2018). Disruptive innovation. https://mapediaz.wixsite.com/website/graduate-learning-copy

Dweck, C. (2006). Mindset: The new psychology of success. New York: Random House

Ekwue, G. (2020, February 3). Podcasting for the culture. GCISD InTech Blog. http://gcisdintech.blogspot.com/2020/02/podcasting-for-culture.html

Godin, S. [TEDEx Youth] (2016, Oct. 10) Stop stealing dreams. [Video File] Retrieved from https://youtu.be/sXpbONjV1Jc

Harapnuik, D. K., Thibodeaux, T. N., & Cummings, C. D. (2018). Choice, Ownership, and Voice through Authentic Learning Opportunities.

Harapnuik, D. (2016, June 16). Mapping your learner’s journey. Retrieved from: http://www.harapnuik.org/?p=6420

Patterson, K., Grenny, J., McMillan, R., & Switzler, A. (2012). Crucial conversations, Tools for talking when stakes are high. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill

Wiggins, G. P., McTighe, J. (2005) Understanding by Design, Expanded 2nd Edition. [Kindle version]. Retrieved from Amazon.com

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page