top of page

Reflecting on the Innovation Project

In November 2018, I had one of the hardest assignments I have had. I had to think about an innovation plan for my school. When you have to choose an authentic project for COVA (Harapnuik, Thibodeaux, and Cummins, 2018), it can be chilling. Now looking back, I guess those are the moments that are preparing you to be a better leader. You need to reflect on what is not working and try to find a solution. I have always been bothered by the fact that I don’t have enough time to give my students a voice to work on what they really want. That is why I decided to create my innovation plan (Diaz, 2018a).





During that time, we had the captivating opportunity to do our first literature review (Diaz, 2018b). That was another moment of me being petrified because I didn’t know how to start or where to look for information! I remember when I started getting the wave, it was exhilarating! Finding different information about topics you didn’t even know existed!! I just loved the experience of finding data by myself on subjects that were of my interest. We had the opportunity to learn how to better influence people with the heart and not just words (VitalSmartVideo, 2015). I loved involving the students and parents in my innovation project. For the creation of the video, my students were ecstatic to be part of that experience and to be able to see themselves on Youtube. They had the opportunity to choose what they wanted to say and that gave them voice promoting the idea. The literature reviews and the action research (Diaz, 2019a) we needed to complete are making me think about going for the doctorate. I find doing research and trying new things to improve something thrilling.


Then, we learned about how to lead organizational change (Diaz, 2019b) to involve others with our innovation plan. This class was so hard for me! The concepts were so abstract but I loved it! Defining the why (Sinek, 2019) for my project, using the influencer model (Grenny et al., 2013) to propose a plan, and using the 4DX (Chesney et al., 2012) to create a strategy to motivate change were part of the learning experience. I believe that if I get a leadership position, I will be revisiting these resources many times to be able to do a better job when planning changes. This was the part that didn’t move forward for me in my innovation plan. Convince other people is hard, especially when it involves extra time.





I have learned so many wonderful things during these 18 months! It is about trying and not being scared! My publication (Diaz, 2020) was part of my innovation plan. That has helped to communicate the idea of my innovation plan of giving the students the opportunity of following their passions and to have a voice. I know I will keep applying all my learning and growing. There is still so much to learn! This has been a wonderful experience in so many aspects, not only the professional, but also in the way I interact with other people and see the problems. I have gained a broader view of situations. I want to keep expanding that vision to be able to do a better job.


I am going to repeat what our professors have told us since the beginning: “It is important to learn how to learn” so you can keep walking on your independent learning journey. I want to take this final moment to thank each one of my professors. They were just fantastic and thoughtful! That’s why I love the teaching profession, you get to touch and maybe change many lives! After coming to this country running away from the violence in my country almost 15 years ago with a minimum of English, I am going to get a Masters. Thanks to all the people that have been a part of this amazing expedition!


References:


Chesney, C., Covey, S. & Huling, J. (2012) The 4 disciplines of execution. New York, NY: Franklin Covey Co.

Diaz, P. (2020). How to promote student voice - literally. https://www.edutopia.org/article/way-promote-student-voice-literally

Diaz, P. (2018a). Disruptive innovation. https://mapediaz.wixsite.com/website/graduate-learning-copy

Diaz, P. (2018b). Literature review. https://mapediaz.wixsite.com/website/blank-page-1

Grenny, J., Patterson, K., Maxfield, D., McMillan, R., & Switzler, A. (2013). Influencer: The new science of leading change. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill.

Harapnuik, D. K., Thibodeaux, T. N., & Cummings, C. D. (2018). Choice, Ownership, and Voice through Authentic Learning Opportunities.

Sinek, S. [Steven Briginshaw]. (2013, September 29) Start with why [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=24&v=sioZd3AxmnE

VitalSmartVideo. (2015. January 5). How to change people who don’t want to change | The bahavioral science guys [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=28&v=9ACi-D5DI6A&feature=emb_logo

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page