top of page

PL - The Why, The What, and The How

The Why - This year we received our scores and they were not very good. We are the worst school in the district, and that is very sad. I think that we need to do better for our students. I am convinced that it is not that the teachers are not doing the best they can, they are doing the best they know how to. That is the Why, maybe we need to provide teachers with different ways of providing instruction so they can reach every kid by implementing blended learning.


The What - I produced a video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=txbUJakuqJA


The How - I wanted to learn how to make presentations using Keynote. The easy way would be to use iMovie because I have already used it several times but I wanted to try something different. For the format of the presentation, I used the videos that were given to us on week two on how to make effective presentations. I had some important factors in mind: dark background, one idea at a time, incorporate images, make the spectator feel like the hero, and create a story full of contrasts. Youtube is definitely my favorite place to go, because I always find answers to my questions. I am a little bit frustrated because I wanted to have a dramatic finale with inspirational music, but I did not find out how to do it. It was interesting to learn how to record a voice to add to the presentation and how to share it to Youtube.


References:

Cult of Pedagogy. (2013, September 16). How Presentation Zen fixed my bad presentations. [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vkrl1j0IW-c

TEDx Talks. (2014, April 14). How to avoid dead by Powerpoint | David JP Phillips | TEDxStockholm Salon. [Video File]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iwpi1Lm6dFo

TEDx Talks. (2010, December 10). TEDxEast - Nancy Duarte uncovers common structure of greatest communicators. [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=196&v=1nYFpuc2Umk



Learning how to use Keynote


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page