top of page

It's Better to Know the Law When Using Resources

What a week! I have always admired lawyers for their ability with words. This week was not the exception. I got confused with some of the verbatim in the readings we had this week so my admiration for lawyers grew even greater this week. Math and numbers are definitely my thing.


Everything we learned this week was so interesting! Copyright, Fair use, the TEACH Act, and Creative Commons. I have heard about those topics before but it was a vague view. I am not going to say that I am the expert because I am still confused with some aspects of fair use, but at least I understand a little bit more. I know that if I want a leadership position in the technology area, I will have to have a deeper understanding of these topics so I can monitor and mentor people about this.


I really appreciate the time our professor takes to write the Lecture. It is so useful! It gives an overview of what is coming and it helps me understand the concepts. This week, I particularly found most of the videos interesting and I even bookmarked some of the readings. The Checklist for Fair Use is a great resource. You can use it to evaluate if fair use is applicable before using some material. The myths explained by Copyright Licensing Office (n.d.) are so useful! They help you understand some misconceptions about Copyrights. Creative Commons (n.d.) is another great source. You can search for free images in the public domain and under Creative Common licenses depending on the use you want for them. And the last place I bookmarked was Enghagen (2005). It is written by a lawyer and it is a set of six rules to have in mind when creating a course.


This was a very stressful week because of all of the history and laws that we had to review, but it had a lot of learning too. I feel that I am more prepared for a leadership position now because it is always important to know the law. And as a teacher, I feel that I am more prepared because now I know what fair use is and how can I use it for the benefit of my students.


References:

Copyright Licensing Office (n.d.). Copyright myths [Blog post]. Retrieved from https://copyright.byu.edu/copyright-myths

Creative Commons (n.d.) Search Retrieved from https://ccsearch.creativecommons.org/




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page